World Championship Snooker Betting

The Snooker World Championship is the premier tournament in the snooker calendar. It carries the most prestige, offers the most prize money and also awards more ranking points than any other event in snooker.

The tournament has been staged at the Crucible Theatre, Sheffield since 1977, an association that has led to the venue becoming known as the home of snooker. The championships are traditionally staged at the end of the snooker calendar over the end of April and early part of May.

World Championship Snooker Betting 2013

Ronnie O'Sullivan will be defending his title at the Crucible Theatre from the 20th April and will be hoping to win it for the fifth time. After a break from snooker there were doubts that the talented player would be competing at the World Championships this year but at the last moment he has decided to take part.

Stephen Hendry holds the record of most World Championship betting victories in the modern era with seven titles to his name; Steve Davis is one behind with six titles won throughout the 80s. John Higgins has won the title on four occasions while Ronnie O’Sullivan is a three-time champion.

World Championship Snooker Winner Betting

Throughout the 1980s and 1990s World Championship snooker betting was a simple task. Steve Davis won six of the 10 championships contested throughout the 80s before Stephen Hendry picked up the gauntlet and won seven of the World Championships in the next decade.

Since the turn of the millennium, however, World Championship snooker betting has become a lot more competitive and increasingly more difficult to predict. The last 12 World Championships have produced seven different winners from four different countries, John Higgins claimed his fourth title in 2011, Neil Robertson became the first Australian champion of the modern era and Ronnie O’Sullivan and Mark Williams have won multiple titles.

Recent winners;

  • 2012 – Ronnie O'Sullivan beat Ali Carter
  • 2011 – John Higgins beat Judd Trump
  • 2010 – Neil Robertson beat Graeme Dott
  • 2009 – John Higgins beat Shaun Murphy
  • 2008 – Ronnie O’Sullivan beat Ali Carter
  • 2007 – John Higgins beat Mark Selby
  • 2006 – Graeme Dott beat Peter Ebdon
  • 2005 – Shaun Murphy beat Matthew Stevens
  • 2004 – Ronnie O’Sullivan beat Graeme Dott
  • 2003 – Mark Williams beat Ken Doherty
  • 2002 – Peter Ebdon beat Stephen Hendry
  • 2001 – Ronnie O’Sullivan beat John Higgins
  • 2000 – Mark Williams beat Matthew Stevens

World Championship Snooker Betting Markets

Every snooker player’s season is geared towards the World Championships. This is the title that they all want to win and prepare all season to reach the Crucible in peak form and condition. Which is why World Snooker Championship betting is the most popular of Snooker Betting events throughout the season.

Outright World Championship snooker betting markets cover the eventual winner of the tournament, who will make it to the final, which player will win each quarter of the draw, the highest break of the tournament, number of century breaks and whether there will be a 147 in the tournament.

From the opening match of the championships right through to the final there are a wide range of markets available to punters. The match odds market relating to each game will naturally be the most popular amongst bettors but there are also World Championship snooker betting markets on individual frame winners, correct score betting, handicap betting, high break betting, total centuries, total half-centuries and much more.